Buy new:
FREE delivery: 13 - 19 July
Only 1 left in stock.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Smaller World Future AU
Sold by Smaller World Future AU
Ships from
Smaller World Future AU
Other Sellers on Amazon
+ $4.90 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Sold by: Amazon US
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
International Product from outside Australia
Delivery rates Return policy
+ $6.63 Delivery
Sold by: Prestivo-France
Sold by: Prestivo-France
(575 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Pat Metheny: The ECM Years, 1975-1984 Hardcover – Illustrated, 17 August 2017

4.6 out of 5 stars 46 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover, Illustrated

Enhance your purchase

Save on selected Bestselling Big Idea books.
View our curated selection of books. Click to explore.

Noise: The new book from the authors of ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’ out now.
Order your copy today. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ OUP USA; UK ed. edition (17 August 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 328 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0199897670
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0199897674
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 21.08 x 2.54 x 14.73 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 46 ratings

Product description


Metheny's contributions to jazz, as highlighted by Cooke, are his ambitious narrative trajectories that developed into complex forms, novel harmonic progressions (or other methods of organizing harmonic material), and use of state-of-the-art equipment and techniques. Pat Metheny: The ECM Years, 1975-1984, is a thoughtful and enjoyable study of Metheny's music and his importance to jazz. ― James Mason, Notes

Pat Metheny: The ECM Years, 19751984, is a thoughtful and enjoyable study of Methenys music and hisimportance to jazz. ― James Mason, University of Toronto, Notes

I've now read Cooke's account twice, always with the music to hand, and it's revelatory. Jazz studies of this quality are still rare, but quite a few of them are in the same Oxford series, which ought to be on every collectors' shelf. ― Brian Morton, Jazz Journal

About the Author

Mervyn Cooke is Professor of Music at the University of Nottingham, United Kingdom, where he teaches courses in twentieth-century music, jazz, film music and composition. An alumnus of the Royal Academy of Music and King's College Cambridge, he is the author and editor of numerous and widely translated books on jazz, film music and the life and works of Benjamin Britten.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
46 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 September 2017
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Prof. A. D. Marshall
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 July 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Andrew Gray
4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed guide
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 June 2021
Verified Purchase
Bill Rice
5.0 out of 5 stars The real book
Reviewed in Canada on 2 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Daniele S.
5.0 out of 5 stars Ottimo libro
Reviewed in Italy on 10 June 2020
Verified Purchase